Chronica

Chronica

Two new films were made as part of a residency at Antre Peaux; one was made remotely in London, UK in February and the other in Bourges, France in April. They address experiences of mental illness, and navigating healthcare services and treatments in both the UK and France. The films explore experiences of alienation and social marginalisation due to race, culture and gender, and develop discussions around trans-cultural mental health services and linguistic and cultural translation. One of the films was made in Ursulab, a new biohacking lab that has opened at Antre Peaux, which is used to explore Western scientific constructs and narratives around migration, race and the categorisation of social groups.

Content Warning: Contain images of an incision, bleeding wounds and blood samples being used in a lab setting.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Sophie Hoyle

Sophie Hoyle is an artist and writer whose practice explores an intersectional approach to post-colonial, queer, feminist, critical psychiatry and disability issues. Their work looks at the relation of the personal to (and as) political, individual and collective anxieties, and how alliances can be formed where different kinds of inequality and marginalisation intersect. They relate personal experiences of being queer, non-binary and part of the MENA (Middle East and North Africa) diaspora to wider forms of structural violence. From lived experience of disability and mental illness including Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), they began to explore the history of biomedical technologies and treatments that overlap with state and military control.

bg-03

Chronica

Chronica

Im Rahmen eines Aufenthalts beim Kulturverein Antre Peaux entstanden zwei neue Filme; einer wurde im Februar in London, Großbritannien, gedreht, der andere im April in Bourges, Frankreich. Sie thematisieren Erfahrungen mit psychischen Erkrankungen und den Zugang zu Gesundheitswesen und Behandlungen in den beiden Ländern. Die Filme untersuchen Erfahrungen der Entfremdung und sozialen Marginalisierung aufgrund von ethnischer Herkunft, Kultur und Geschlecht und entwickeln Diskussionen über transkulturelle Dienste für psychische Gesundheit und sprachliche und kulturelle Übersetzung. Einer der Filme wurde im Ursulab gedreht, einem neuen Biohacking-Labor, das im Antre Peaux eröffnet wurde und westliche Wissenschaftskonstrukte und Narrative rund um Migration, Herkunft und die Kategorisierung sozialer Gruppen untersucht.

Warnung: Der Inhalt enthält Bilder von Schnitten, blutenden Wunden und Blutproben, die in einer Laborumgebung verwendet werden.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Sophie Hoyle

Sophie Hoyle ist Künstler:in und Autor:in und setzt sich intersektional mit postkolonialen, queeren, feministischen Themen sowie kritischer Psychiatrie und Behinderung auseinander. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die Relation von persönlichen zu (und in Gestalt von) politischen, Individuellen und kollektiven Ängsten sowie die Frage, wie an der Schnittstelle unterschiedlicher Arten von Ungleichheit und Marginalisierung Allianzen gebildet werden können. Hoyle setzt persönliche Erfahrungen als queere, nicht binäre und der Diaspora des Mittleren und Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas zugehörige Person in Beziehung zu weiteren Formen struktureller Gewalt. Aufgrund eigener Erfahrungen mit Behinderung und psychischer Krankheit, darunter eine posttraumatische Belastungsstörung (PTBS), begann Hoyle, die Geschichte biomedizinischer Technologien und Behandlungsmethoden zu erforschen, bei denen es Überschneidungen mit staatlicher und militärischer Kontrolle gibt.

bg-03