High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove

High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove

High Fidelity Wasteland is a sound-centric trilogy that experiments with the material waste left over from generations of decomposing sound reproduction technology. HiFi Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove recomposes alternate forms of sonic expression inhabiting shellac phonograph recordings. Spinning at 78 rpm, this precursor to the vinyl record was the first ever disk-shaped recording medium. Though shellac looks and behaves like any other plastic we know today, this dark resin is in fact an organic bioadhesive, excreted by the tree dwelling Lac beetle as a protective shelter for her offspring. Chemically similar to synthetic polymers, shellac is considered a natural form of plastic — one that was rapaciously harvested and commodified throughout the 20th century for the global music industry. Though produced on a massive scale, shellac records signify a short-lived transition from the outset of our throwaway culture. This first iteration of HiFi Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove presents current electromechanical sound experiments, up-cycled prototypes and sculptural processes that release this hardened byproduct of insect survival into multi-material forms of sound and noise.

Material research and sculptural elements are made in collaboration with sculptor Irene Pérez Hernández, whose work challenges historical sculptural conventions by questioning materiality and form. Her works activate seemingly mundane objects, placing them in circumstances that are alternately poignant and absurd, posing larger questions about power dynamics, autonomy, and modalities of cultural and material circulation.

The artist thanks Alex Rex (http://www. alexrex.de) and Daniel Stigler for their technical support.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at KONTEJNER (HR) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Darsha Hewitt in collaboration with Irene Perez Hernandez (DE)

Darsha Hewitt’s practice is situated across new media and sound studies and largely grows out of empirical experimentation with obsolete technology. As a way to better understand the confounding ways that humans treat one another and how we engage with ecology, her work critically investigates the materiality of the machines, processes and practices of technology that consumer society throws away.

Irene Pérez Hernández

Irene Pérez Hernández’s works challenge historical sculptural conventions, focusing particularly on questions of materiality and form. Her works activate seemingly mundane objects, placing them in circumstances that are alternately poignant and absurd, posing larger questions about power dynamics, autonomy, and modalities of cultural and material circulation.

bg-03

High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove

High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove

Die klangzentrierte Trilogie High Fidelity Wasteland experimentiert mit den materiellen Überresten von Generationen sich zersetzender Tonwiedergabetechnologien. In High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove werden alternative Klangformen, wie sie sich auf alten Schellackplatten finden, neu zusammengesetzt. Diese Vorläufer der Vinyl-Schallplatte mit ihren 78 Umdrehungen pro Minute waren das erste scheibenförmige Aufnahmemedium überhaupt. Obwohl Schellack so aussieht und sich verhält wie jeder andere uns bekannte Kunststoff, ist dieses dunkle Harz im Grunde ein organischer Bioklebstoff, der von der in Bäumen lebenden Lackschildlaus zum Schutz ihrer Nachkommenschaft ausgeschieden wird. In seiner chemischen Zusammensetzung ähnelt Schellack synthetischen Polymeren und gilt deshalb als eine natürliche Form von Kunststoff – eine, die im 20. Jahrhundert gierig für die globale Musikindustrie geerntet und kommerzialisiert wurde. Schellackplatten wurden zwar massenhaft hergestellt, stehen jedoch für eine kurzlebige Übergangsphase an den Anfängen unserer Wegwerfkultur. Diese erste Ausgabe von High Fidelity Wasteland II: The Proto-Plastic Groove präsentiert aktuelle elektromechanische Experimente, Upcycling-Prototypen und skulpturale Prozesse, die das gehärtete Nebenprodukt einer insektischen Überlebensstrategie in multimaterielle Geräusch- und Klangformen überführen.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei KONTEJNER (HR) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Darsha Hewitt in collaboration with Irene Perez Hernandez (DE)

Darsha Hewitts Praxis ist in den Bereichen Neue Medien und Sound Studies angesiedelt und beruht größtenteils auf empirischen Experimenten mit veralteter Technologie. Für ein besseres Verständnis unseres verwirrenden Umgangs miteinander und mit der Umwelt unterzieht sie die Materialität der Maschinen, Prozesse und Praktiken von Technologie, die von der Konsumgesellschaft entsorgt wird, einer kritischen Prüfung.

Irene Pérez Hernández

Die Arbeiten von Irene Pérez Hernández stellen historische skulpturale Konventionen in Frage und beschäftigen sich vor allem mit Fragen der Materialität und Form. In ihrer Praxis aktiviert sie scheinbar alltägliche Objekte, die sie in mal ergreifende, mal absurde Umstände versetzt, und wirft damit umfassendere Fragen über die Machtdynamik, Autonomie und Modalitäten der kulturellen und materiellen Zirkulation auf.

bg-03