Podcasts

Podcasts

Podcasts

How discontinuity and historical contexts, disorder, and machine learning collide is the topic of the podcasts with artists and scholars published continuously during the three festival weekends in the conference and discourse program of the Werkleitz Festival 2021.

Podcasts

Podcast

In the Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast, Simon Schaupp reports about where cybernetics can be found today, what could be done with it, and where it all started.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Christopher Coenen spans the arc from the first ideas on transhumanism to today’s development in the Werkleitz Festival 2021 podcast.
How do machines, ideas, biology, and deeper understanding intertwine to accompany the further development of humans?

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Harald Heinrichs describes the necessary connection in sustainability from the countryside to the city, from small communities to megacities. Individuals can promote sustainability, but even more so when they join forces with others.

Podcasts

Do we belief in big data or the other way around? Mél Hogan is asking how to survive the post-capitalist dislocations in present and future.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Podcasts

Desiree Förster talks in this Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast about the necessity of recognizing the processual in us and our environment, so that we can find ways to live on this planet in the future. Art could help us to do this.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Stefanie Wakefield is talking in this Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast about that we discuss a lot about like fossil fuels, the industrial revolution urbanization, the great acceleration, but not the anticipatory future.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Aleksandra Niemczyk, Liliana Zeic, and Teaque Owen, artists within the Werkleitz Festival 2021, are talking about the need of safe space, conservative politics, and possibly taking accountability in this Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Marold Langer-Philippsen

Marold Langer-Philippsen, born in Munich, lives in Europe, works as radio/media artist, director, performer, stage/exhibition designer and musician in the fields of time-based arts with particular attention to public space, theatre and live broadcast since 1984.

His radio works were created for community radios in Europe, Public Broadcast Stations in Germany, Austria, Czech Republic and Slovakia, Ars Electronica Linz and São Paulo Art Biennial. His performance works were presented throughout Europe, in the Middle East, South America and Australia.

Features

Features

Objet 01 – Kein Haus wie jedes andere [No Ordinary Building]

A three-part radio series about the site of this year’s Werkleitz Festival move to …


The administrative regional offices of the East German Ministry of State Security – Buildings 1 and 2 – are the site of the Werkleitz Festival and provide the framework for the three-part radio feature by Ralf Wendt.

In relation to the three festival weekends, the radio piece examines the building’s history and its connection to the sociosphereecosphere and bodydatasphere.

The features are compositions produced from recorded conversations between the author and representatives of the Stasi Records Agency, the Roter Ochse Memorial Site, occupiers of the building in December 1989 and residents of Halle persecuted by the Stasi. Former citizens of East Germany who had connections to the Stasi or were subject to repression were also interviewed in cooperation with the Roter Ochse Memorial Site.

 

Features

An intelligence agency collects information about its own citizens – at the bequest of the country’s only official party.This intelligence agency, the East German Ministry of State Security, uses the information to protect the country from harmful influences – from outside or inside its own borders. This description applies to intelligence agencies all over the world. So why is this building, the local Stasi headquarters, such a special place?

Maybe because the surveillance that was conducted here until 1989 was not subject to any supervision, as none of the people affected or accused could demand their constitutional rights. Maybe because the entire population was suspected of not trusting the governing minority. Or maybe simply because the abuse of power seldom seems so mundane as in a place like this, buildings 01 and 02.

With Michael Viebig, director of the Roter Ochse Memorial Site in Halle, André Gursky, research assistant at the Roter Ochse, Marit Krätzer, director of the Stasi Archive in Halle, citizens of East Germany who had connections to the Stasi or were subject to repression, materials from the Federal Stasi Records Agency and Erich Mielke.

Sound concept: Jasmina Al-Qaisi, Ralf Wendt

From the late 1970s onwards activists of the East German environmental movement were among the most spied on state enemies. The story that Lothar Rochau, at the time a youth deacon in Halle, and others describe in the documentary is a dangerous combination of critical thinking about ecology and reflections on the foundations of the state and its economy. The Stasi in Halle presumably had the most detailed information on the environmental sins of East German chemical operations. Instead of working to reduce pollution, the information was used by the Stasi to criminalise the sources – that is, to deny the obvious truth and invest all their energy in keeping the pollution a secret.

With excerpts from the film Bitteres aus Bitterfeld [Bitter News from Bitterfeld] by the East German underground network “Arche”.

IM” stands for inoffizielle Mitarbeiter or “unofficial agent” – conspiratorial apartment for secret Stasi meetings in the city and an operative procedure for strategic surveillance and information collection on individuals who were potentially dangerous for the East German’s government status quo. 

The seven kilometres of files in Halle contain information about one half of the city’s population at the time. The system involved multiple identification of individuals designated for observation and a double archive of all files in the local offices and in Berlin – an extremely sophisticated process as back then there were virtually no computers. Kafka’s castle looms large over gloomy Prague.

The historians Michael Viebig and André Gursky examine data collection methods, Marit Krätzer,  in her daily work at the Stasi document archive, translates these methods for the victims of surveillance. Former employees of the Stasi regional office offer insights into a self-image that casts current intelligence activities in our society and the approach to comprehensive data collection in a different light. Former occupiers of the Stasi headquarters like Dietmar Webel and Thomas Kupfer were aware back in 1989 that a critical view of data collection is necessary for modern societies.

With archive material from the German Federal Stasi Records Agency.

Ralf Wendt

Ralf Wendt works within the time-based and literary arts on the deconstruction of human and animal language and questions orders of things. Since the mid-90s, he has addressed a poetics of suprasegmentalia in performances, films and radio art and works as a curator of art, music or radio art festivals, where he brings together different artistic expressions interested in utopian/dystopian social disruptions.

bg-03

Podcasts

Podcasts

Wie Diskontinuität und historische Kontexte, Unordnung und maschinelles Lernen aufeinandertreffen, ist Thema der Podcasts mit Künstler:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen, die während der drei Festivalwochenenden fortlaufend im Konferenz- und Diskursprogramm des Werkleitz Festivals 2021 veröffentlicht werden.

Podcasts

Podcast

Simon Schaupp berichtet im Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast darüber, wo sich die Kybernetik heute findet, was sich damit machen liesse und wo alles seinen Anfang nahm.

Das Gespräch wird auf Englisch geführt.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Christopher Coenen spannt den Bogen von den ersten Ideen zum Transhumanismus zu heutiger Entwicklung im Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast.
Wie greifen Maschinen, Ideen, Biologie und tieferes Verständnis ineinander, um die Weiterentwicklung der Menschen zu begleiten?

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

 

Harald Heinrichs beschreibt die notwendigen Verbindung in punkto Nachhaltigkeit vom Land zur Stadt, von den kleinen Gemeinden zu den Megacities. Einzelnen können Nachhaltigkeit fördern, aber umso mehr, wenn sie sich mit anderen zusammen tun.

Podcasts

Glauben wir an Big Data oder andersherum? Mél Hogan fragt, wie man die postkapitalistischen Verwerfungen in Gegenwart und Zukunft überleben kann.

Das Gespräch wird auf Englisch geführt.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Podcasts

Desiree Förster spricht in diesem Werkleitz Festival 2021 Podcast über die Notwendigkeit, das Prozesshafte in uns und unserer Umwelt zu erkennen, damit wir Handhaben finden, auch in Zukunft auf diesem Planeten leben zu können. Kunst könnte uns dabei helfen.

Spotify  Stitcher Apple Podcasts Soundcloud

Marold Langer-Philippsen

Marold Langer-Philippsen, geboren in München, lebt in Europa und ist tätig als Radio- und Medienkünstler, Regisseur, Performer, Ausstatter und Musiker in den Sparten der zeitbasierten Künste mit besonderem Augenmerk auf öffentlichen Raum, Theater und Liveradio - seit 1984.

Seine Radioarbeiten wurden für Bürgermedien in ganz Europa, öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk in Deutschland, Österreich, Tschechien und der Slowakei, die Ars Electronica in Linz, die São Paolo Kunstbiennale und das Internationale Radiokunst Festival Halle geschaffen. Aufführungen seiner Theaterarbeiten wurden in Europa, im Nahen Osten, Südamerika und Australien gezeigt.

Features

Objekt 01 - Kein Haus wie jedes andere

Das Verwaltungsgebäude der Bezirksverwaltung Halle des Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit - die Objekte 01 und 02 - sind der Ort des Festivals und der Rahmen für das dreiteilige Feature von Ralf Wendt.

In Anlehnung an die drei Festival-Wochenenden untersuchen die Features die Geschichte des Hauses und deren Verbindung zu sociosphere, ecosphere und bodydatasphere.

Die Features sind Kompositionen aus O-Tönen aus Gesprächen, die der Autor mit Vertreterinnen der Stasi-Unterlagenbehörde, der Gedenkstätte Roter Ochse, der Besetzergruppe vom Dezember 1989 und mit Hallenser Protagonisten der Verfolgung durch das MfS geführt hat. Darüber hinaus kommen Zeitzeugen aus Behörden-Sicht und aus Opfer-Perspektive zu Wort, die durch die Gedenkstätte Roter Ochse zur Verfügung gestellt wurden.

Features

Ein Geheimdienst sammelt Informationen über die Bevölkerung des eigenen Landes – im Auftrag der staatsführenden Partei. Dieser Geheimdienst – das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit der DDR – benutzt diese Informationen, um Schaden von eben diesem Staat abzuhalten – nach außen und nach innen. Soweit ist das die Umschreibung aller Geheimdienste dieser Welt. Warum also ist dieses Haus, diese Bezirkszentrale des MfS in Halle ein besonderer Ort?

Vielleicht, weil das bis 1989 hier stattfindende Überwachen de facto keinerlei Kontrolle unterlag, weil keine betroffene und/oder beschuldigte Person ihre verfassungsmäßigen Rechte einklagen konnte; vielleicht weil am Ende das ganze Volk verdächtig wurde, der regierenden Minderheit nicht zu vertrauen. Vielleicht aber auch einfach, weil der Missbrauch von Macht selten profaner erschien, als an einem Ort wie diesem hier, den Objekten 01 und 02.

U. a. mit Michael Viebig, Leiter der Gedenkstätte Roter Ochse Halle, André Gursky, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Roten Ochsen, Marit Krätzer, Leiterin des Stasi-Unterlagen-Archivs in Halle, Zeitzeug:innen aus Mitarbeitersicht in der Behörde und aus Opferperspektive, Materialien aus dem BStU sowie Erich Mielke

Sounds & Atmos: Jasmina Al-Qaisi, Ralf Wendt

Die Aktiven der DDR-Umweltbewegung gehörten seit Ende der 1970er-Jahre zu den bestausspionierten Staatsfeinden der DDR. Was unter anderem der Hallenser ehemalige Jugenddiakon Lothar Rochau im Feature beschreibt, ist die offenbar gefährliche Verbindung von kritischem Nachdenken über Ökologie mit dem Nachdenken über die Verfasstheit eines Staates und seiner Ökonomie. Das MfS Halle hatte vermutlich die besten Recherchen zu den Umweltsünden der Chemiekombinate. Anstatt hier für Verbesserungen zu sorgen, wurden diese Erkenntnisse von der Stasi benutzt, um deren Quellen zu kriminalisieren – in Verkürzung also die Erde zur Scheibe zu erklären und alle Energien in die Methodik der Geheimhaltung zu investieren.

mit Ausschnitten des Filmes Bitteres aus Bitterfeld des DDR-Untergrund-Netzwerkes Arche

IM steht für inoffizielle Mitarbeiter, konspirative Wohnung für geheime Treffpunkte der Stasi in der Stadt und operativer Vorgang für strategisch angelegte Überwachung und Datenerfassung von potentiell für den Status Quo des Staates DDR gefährliche Personen. 

Die sieben Kilometer Aktenrücken in Halle versammeln Daten über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung zu DDR-Zeiten. Das System beinhaltete mehrfaches Taggen der zu beobachtenden Personen, doppelte Aktensammlung in den Bezirken und in Berlin – und all das hochkomplex weitgehend ohne Computer. Kafkas Schloss grüßt aus dem Prager Nebel.

Die Historiker Michael Viebig und André Gursky untersuchen die Methodik der Datenerfassung, Marit Krätzer übersetzt in ihrem Alltag im Stasi-Unterlagenarchiv die Methodik für die betroffenen Opfer der Überwachung. Ehemalige Mitarbeiter:innen der Bezirksverwaltung bieten Einblicke in ein Selbstverständnis, das auch heutige Geheimdienstzugänge zu Gesellschaft und Umgang mit flächendeckender Datenerfassung in ein anderes Licht rückt. Ehemalige Stasi-Zentralen-Besetzer wie Dietmar Webel und Thomas Kupfer wussten 1989 schon, dass ein kritischer Zugang zu Datenerfassung für moderne Gesellschaften nötig ist.

unter Verwendung von Archivmaterialien aus dem BStU

Ralf Wendt

Ralf Wendt arbeitet innerhalb der zeitbasierten und literarischen Künste an der Dekonstruktion von menschlicher und tierischer Sprache und hinterfragt Ordnungen der Dinge. Seit Mitte der 90er-Jahre thematisiert er in Performances, Filmen und Radiokunst eine Poetik der Suprasegmentalia und arbeitet als Kurator von Kunst-, Musik- oder Radiokunstfestivals, wo er verschiedene künstlerische Ausdrucksformen zusammenführt, die an utopischen/dystopischen gesellschaftlichen Störungen interessiert sind.

bg-03