Perspectives on AI bias, pseudoscience and promising alternatives

#Algorithmic Un/Predictability
Perspectives on AI bias, pseudoscience and promising alternatives
Sun. 20. 6. 14:0015:30

Conversation with Julia Kloiber (AT) and Frederike Kaltheuner (DE), moderated by Yasemin Keskintepe (DE)

In late February the European Commission published its much-anticipated white book on artificial intelligence (AI). The paper is considered to be the first transnational attempt to regulate AI and is part of the EU’s overall plan to shape the trajectory of digital technologies over the following decade. This attempt by Europe to regulate technology can be assessed as a combination of business-friendly surveillance capitalism and authoritarian state control.

The use of big data und machine learning harbours the promise of more accurate, unbiased future predictions than human beings on their own can ever be capable of. Yet because existing data sets are always utilised, these calculations are in reality extrapolations of the past and serve to reproduce prejudices embedded in the data. This, in turn, raises ethical and moral dilemmas. As mirrors of our society, algorithms show the status quo, reinforce errors and are subject to targeted influences – for the good and for the bad. Besides the limitations, injustices and oracle-like nature of these technologies, there are also questions about the nature of the opportunities and possibilities they offer. As a result, they challenge us to imagine what a world made of data might look like and to formulate a vision of the world we want to live in.

This session brings together Julia Kloiber – co-founder of Superrr Lab, a visionary feminist organisation and network for the research of the potential of new technologies for a pluralistic society – and Frederike Kaltheuner – tech policy analyst, researcher and advocate for justice in a world made of data – to talk about all these issues.

© Alena Schmick
Frederike Kaltheuner

Frederike Kaltheuner is a tech policy analyst, researcher and advocate for justice in a world made of data. From 2019-2020 she was a public-interest Tech Policy Fellow at the Mozilla Foundation. She also manages the European AI Fund, a philanthropic initiative to strengthen civil society in Europe. Previously she was Director of the Corporate Exploitation Programme at Privacy International. She advises governments, foundations and non-profits on emerging technologies, strategy, and tech policy.

© Oliver Ajkovic
Julia Kloiber

Julia Kloiber is the managing director and co-founder of the feminist non-profit Superrr Lab. She has launched a number of initiatives and organisations with a focus on public interest tech and digital public infrastructure. Among them are the Prototype Fund, a public open source fund and the initiative DigitaleZivilgesellschaft. org. From 2018-2019 she was a Fellow at the Mozilla Foundation. Julia is on the Advisory Board of Wikimedia Offene Wissenschaft, Digital Service 4 Germany and the Postcode Lottery Germany. In her current work, she explores just and equal digital futures.

Yasemin Keskintepe

Yasemin Keskintepe is an art historian and curator. She is currently in the process of curating the special exhibition Künstliche Intelligenz. Maschinen Lernen Menschheitsträume [Artificial Intelligence. Machine Learning Human Dreams] at the Deutsches Hygiene-Museum in Dresden. She previously worked at ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe (2016 - 2018), where she co-curated the exhibition Open Codes. Digital Culture Techniques . Other projects include the 2018 version of the Impakt Festival Algorithmic Superstructures in Utrecht and Non-Aligned Networks (2019) at Valetta Contemporary in Malta.

bg-03

Perspectives on AI bias, pseudoscience and promising alternatives

#Algorithmische Un/Berechenbarkeit
Perspectives on AI bias, pseudoscience and promising alternatives
So. 20. 6. 14:0015:30

Gespräch mit Julia Kloiber (AT) und Frederike Kaltheuner (DE), moderiert von Yasemin Keskintepe (DE)

Ende Februar hat die Europäische Kommission ihr lang erwartetes Weißbuch zur künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) veröffentlicht. Das Papier gilt als der weltweit erste länderübergreifende Versuch, KI zu regulieren und ist Teil des großen Plans der Europäischen Union, digitalen Technologien für das nächste Jahrzehnt eine Wegrichtung zu geben. Dabei steht der Versuch der europäischen Regulierung zwischen konzerngesteuertem Überwachungskapitalismus und autoritärer staatlicher Kontrolle.

Der Einsatz von Big Data und Machine Learning geht mit dem Versprechen einher, Voraussagen für die Zukunft zu liefern, mit akkurateren und unvoreingenommeneren Ergebnissen als Menschen es jemals könnten. Weil dabei jedoch stets mit bereits bestehenden Datensätzen operiert wird, sind ihre Berechnungen immer nur eine Extrapolation der Vergangenheit. Sie reproduzieren damit in die Daten eingeschriebene Diskriminierungen und werfen Fragen der Ethik und Moral auf. Algorithmen fungieren als Spiegel der Gesellschaft, bilden den Status quo ab, potenzieren Fehler und eignen sich zur gezielten Beeinflussung – im Guten wie im Schlechten. So stellen sich neben Grenzen, Ungerechtigkeiten und Orakelhaftigkeit dieser Technologien genauso Fragen über ihre Potenziale, Chancen und Möglichkeiten, und darüber, wie wir uns über apathische Politik und dystopische Science-Fiction hinaus eine Welt aus Daten vorstellen sowie eine Vision der Welt formulieren können, die wir wirklich wollen.

Diese Session bringt Julia Kloiber, Mitbegründerin des Superrr Lab – einer visionären und feministischen Organisation und eines Netzwerks zur Erforschung der Potenziale neuer Technologien für die Gesellschaft und die Vielfalt –, und Frederike Kaltheuner – Tech-Policy-Analystin, Forscherin und Verfechterin von Gerechtigkeit in einer Welt aus Daten – ins Gespräch.

© Alena Schmick
Frederike Kaltheuner

Frederike Kaltheuner ist Tech-Policy-Analystin, Forscherin und Verfechterin von Gerechtigkeit in einer Welt aus Daten. Von 2019 bis 2020 war sie als Fellow für Public Interest Tech Policy bei der Mozilla Foundation tätig. Außerdem leitet sie den European AI Fund, eine philanthropische Initiative zur Förderung zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz in Europa. Zuvor war sie Direktorin des Corporate Exploitation Programme bei Privacy International. Sie berät Regierungen, Stiftungen und Non-Profit-Organisationen zu neuen Technologien, Strategie und Tech-Politik.

© Oliver Ajkovic
Julia Kloiber

Julia Kloiber ist Geschäftsführerin und Mitbegründerin der feministischen Non-Profit-Organisation Superrr Lab. Sie hat eine Reihe von Initiativen und Organisationen ins Leben gerufen, die sich mit Public Interest Tech und digitalen öffentlichen Infrastrukturen auseinandersetzen. Dazu gehören der Prototype Fund, ein öffentlicher Open-Source-Fonds, und die Initiative DigitaleZivilgesellschaft. org. Von 2018 bis 2019 war sie Fellow bei der Mozilla Foundation. Sie ist im Beirat von Wikimedia Offene Wissenschaft, DigitalService4Germany und der Deutschen Postcode Lotterie. In ihrer aktuellen Arbeit erforscht sie gerechte und gleichberechtigte digitale Zukunftsszenarien.

Yasemin Keskintepe

Yasemin Keskintepe ist Kunstwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin. Derzeit arbeitet sie als Kuratorin am Deutschen Hygiene-Museum in Dresden an der Sonderausstellung Künstliche Intelligenz. Maschinen Lernen Menschheitsträume. Zuvor arbeitete sie am ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe (2016–2018), wo sie die Ausstellung Open Codes. Digital Culture Techniques ko-kuratierte. Weitere Projekte sind die 2018 Ausgabe des Impakt Festivals Algorithmic Superstructures in Utrecht und Non-Aligned Networks (2019) bei Valetta Contemporary auf Malta.

bg-03