RE:PLACES

RE:PLACES

An extruder built into a robot transforms plastic granules into anamorphic objects, which have a plump, glossy surface right from their birth. As the material swells out of the robots’ organs, it curls and warps until it cools and hardens in its final shape. The robot spreads these artificial pieces around the exhibition space like virtual brushstrokes.

The title of the installation RE:PLACES is short for ‘Recycling PLA Closed-Circuit Extrusion Shaper’.

It moves autonomously and makes creative decisions based on its sensor data. In a storage bubble, it carries around granules made of plastic waste. The objects created during an exhibition can be shredded and serve once again as raw material, resulting in an almost closed cycle. The robot plays our role as earthly actors and offers the possibility for critical self-examination. Viewers can watch solid plastic material being melted and transformed into works of art – the technical process of plastic recycling is revealed. Through this aesthetic experience, the relationship with the material is to be changed and public discourse on plastics encouraged.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at FACT (GB) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Carolin Liebl & Nikolas Schmid-Pfähler

The artist duo Carolin Liebl and Nikolas Schmid-Pfähler have been creating technology-based works since 2012. Both artists graduated from the Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach in 2017. In 2019, they founded the joint studio and exchange platform “Atelier Wäscherei”. The duo’s works explore the impact of technological developments on the aesthetics and social aspects of human and non-human life.

bg-03

Re:Places

Re:Places

Ein in einen Roboter eingebauter Extruder verwandelt Kunststoffgranulat in anamorphe Objekte, die schon bei ihrer Geburt eine pralle, glänzende Oberfläche haben. Während das Material aus den Organen des Roboters quillt, wölbt und verzieht es sich, bis es abkühlt und in seiner endgültigen Form aushärtet. Wie virtuelle Pinselstriche verteilt der Roboter diese Kunstwerke im Ausstellungsraum.
In seiner Aufbewahrungsblase trägt der Roboter verschiedenfarbiges Granulat herum, das aus Plastikmüll besteht, der zuvor von einem DIY-Schredder zerkleinert wurde. Die während einer Ausstellung entstandenen Objekte können erneut als Rohmaterial dienen, wodurch ein (fast) geschlossener Kreislauf entsteht.
Der Extrusions-Roboter bewegt sich autonom und trifft auf Basis seiner Sensordaten kreative Entscheidungen. Indem wir dem Roboter menschliches Verhalten zusprechen, kann er als Stellvertreter für unsere Rolle als irdische Akteure gesehen werden. Das gibt uns die Möglichkeit zur kritischen Selbstbetrachtung. Das Material - Kunststoff, das sonst mit billigen Wegwerfprodukten assoziiert ist, wird zu einem wertvollen und veränderbaren Ausgangsmaterial für Kunstwerke. Durch diese ästhetische Erfahrung soll das Verhältnis zum Material verändert und der öffentliche Diskurs über Kunststoffe gefördert werden.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei FACT (GB) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Carolin Liebl & Nikolas Schmid-Pfähler

Carolin Liebl und Nikolas Schmid-Pfähler arbeiten seit 2012 zusammen und entwickeln technologiebasierte Arbeiten. 2017 schlossen sie ihr Studium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach ab. Im Jahr 2019 gründeten sie die gemeinsame Atelier- und Austauschplattform „Atelier Wäscherei“. In seinen Werken untersucht das Duo die Auswirkungen technologischer Entwicklungen auf die Ästhetik und die sozialen Aspekte menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Lebens.

bg-03