The Siren's Scream

The Siren's Scream

Moving image installation by Aleksandra Niemczyk (NO/PL), 2019

The Siren’s Scream is a multi-channel moving image work inspired by the paintings of Leonora Carrington. This grotesque parable evolves through visions triggered by female trauma, motherhood, and the right to choose.

The neo-primitive style quotes the work of the film surrealist Ulrika Ottinger. Niemczyk’s hand-made scenography and work with natural/amateur actors conjures a make-believe aura. In the magical reality of this world, a girl with a disability - or rather a superpower - that makes her dangerous to herself and others, is left by her biological mother at a “window of mercy.” She is soon adopted by the vicious queen of a society that exploits its underclass of bird-women, forcing them to lay and relinquish their eggs.

Made with the crew and community of Bandits-Mages in Bourges, France, The Siren’s Scream is dedicated to our Polish sisters, as its phantasy theme reflects the outrage over women’s rights abuses happening in contemporary Poland.

This work was realised within the framework of the European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) programme at Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) with support of the Creative Europe Culture Programme of the European Union.

Aleksandra Niemczyk

Aleksandra Niemczyk holds an M. A. in Fine Arts from the European Academy of Art in Warsaw (2001). She studied with Béla Tarr among the first generation of M. A. students to graduate from his Sarajevo ‘film.factory’ program (2013-15). Her work crosses over from painting to film and multi-channel moving image installation.

bg-03

The Siren's Scream

The Siren's Scream

Moving Image Installation von Aleksandra Niemczyk (NO/PL), 2019

Die Mehrkanal-Videoinstallation The Siren’s Scream basiert auf Bildern der Malerin Leonora Carrington. Die groteske Parabel entfaltet sich über Visionen, wie sie durch Traumata, Mutterschaft und die Ablehnung des Rechts auf Selbstbestimmung des eigenen Körpers ausgelöst werden.

Der neo-primitive Stil zitiert die Arbeit der Filmsurrealistin Ulrike Ottinger. Aleksandra Niemczyks selbstgemachtes Bühnenbild und die Arbeit mit Laiendarsteller:innen beschwört eine Aura des Unwirklichen herauf. In der magischen Realität dieser Welt wird ein Mädchen mit einer Behinderung oder vielmehr einer Superkraft, die für sie und andere gefährlich ist, von ihrer leiblichen Mutter in einer Babyklappe zurückgelassen. Bald wird sie von der bösartigen Königin einer Gesellschaft adoptiert, welche die ihr untergebenen Vogelfrauen ausbeutet und sie zwingt, die von ihnen gelegten Eier abzugeben.

The Sirens Scream wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Community von Bandits-Mages im französischen Bourges produziert und ist unseren polnischen Schwestern gewidmet, denn das Thema des Films spiegelt die Empörung über die Missachtung der Frauenrechte im heutigen Polen wider.

Diese Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Programms European Media Art Platforms (EMAP) bei Antre Peaux (ex Bandits Mages) (FR) mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union realisiert.

Aleksandra Niemczyk

Aleksandra Niemczyk hat einen M. A. in Bildender Kunst der Europäischen Akademie der Künste in Warschau (2001). Sie studierte bei Béla Tarr und gehörte zur ersten Generation von Masterstudierenden, die das Programm der Sarajevo Film Factory absolvierten (2013–2015). Ihre Praxis reicht von Malerei über Film bis zur Mehrkanal-Filminstallation.

bg-03